Posted by: happytoknowhim | April 14, 2007

BRF – Jonah

This has been another busy week, but  no more excuses for not writing a book review!

In chapter 1, I was reminded again of the foolishness of trying to do things my own way and ignore what the Lord wants me to do.  Jonah thought he could escape from God’s plan for him.  We all know that that did not work.   The mariners also thought they could do things their way and continued to fight the storm even after Jonah told them that he must be thrown overboard so that the waters would be calm.  I was thinking as I read this, how long does it take me before I get the message that it is far wiser for me to obey God than to fight against Him.

Chapter 2 has a very vivid picture of what Jonah went through for his disobedience to God. I can’t begin to imagine how horrible it would be to be in the belly of this fish with the weeds and stomach contents all around me.  I wonder why we have to be put into very difficult situations before we turn to our Lord and listen to Him.  His Word tells us that He seks only the best for us.  We should know that His purpose for our lives will happen whether we submit willingly or submit kicking and screaming.

If Jonah had just willingly gone to the people of Nineveh in the first place, he would not have endured so much discomfort.  It is hard to think that anyone would not want to see peoople repent and come to the Lord.  But before I condemn Jonah too much I must ask myself if I take every opportunity to share Christ with everyone that I meet in my day to day activities.  I must confess that I have missed far too many opportunities to share the Gospel.  I am praying that God will give me a burden for  souls and that I will look at the people I come in contact with as a soul destined either for Heaven or Hell.  I know that to  accomplish this task I need lots of prayer and the power of the Holy Spirit in my life.

To finish my review, I want to share a few things from a Bible Study that our Pastor did on Jonah a number of years ago.  Nineveh is present day Iran, I did not know that before.  Jonah prophesied in 820 BC that nineveh would be destroyed, the people repented as Jonah preached  to them and the destruction did not happen at this time.  In 713BC Nahum also prophesied of the destruction of Nineveh; in 612 BC Nineveh was finally destroyed and we see today that Iran is far from a Christ loving country.  It is a sombering thought to realize that our country is going in the wrong direction in so many areas that are so displeasing to a holy, righteous God.  I need to do, with the power of God, my part in winning souls to Christ and do my best to have a testimony that is without reproach.

 These are my thoughts from reading Jonah and I am sure that as I read the reviews form others I will see truths that i missed.

 Until next time!! By the way just just five more weeks and I will be in beautiful Nova Scotia.  I am getting excited and looking forward tio meeting most of our BRF sisiters in Christ:)

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing the stuff you learned in bible study. Very interesting!
    And, 5 weeks away will be here before you know it. Hopefully we’ll be through will all the snow by then. 🙂

  2. Barb, I enjoyed your review as always. There were some things I missed that I picked up from yours and that’s why I love reading the other reviews 🙂 And that was very interesting info about Ninevah/Iran.

    Can’t wait to meet you in person in 5 weeks!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

