Posted by: happytoknowhim | April 21, 2007

BRF – I Corinthains 1-4

This has been a difficult week for all at our church as one from our midst, Mr. Rohof, went home to be with his Lord after a battle with cancer on April 15.  For myself this week has brought back memories of another day eight years ago.  On April 13 my husband went home to be with his Lord. Mr. Brown and Mr. Rohof are buried in the same cemetery not very far from each other.  Anne did a great job of describing the testimony of the Christians at the funeral to those that were lost attending.  What a difference when a Christian leaves this sinful world to be with his Lord and Saviour, there is a peace that ‘passes all understanding’.  Yes we are saddened, but we have the assurance that we will be reunited with Mr. Rohof, Mr. Brown, and all those that have gone on before us that knew Christ as their Saviour.

I have said all this to say that I am not sure what I have to say or learned from our reading this week.  I know that as I read my thoughts would go to other things and not be focused.  I will just relate a couple of things that did draw my attention.

First,  Paul is speaking to the people of Cornith and reminding them that they are Christ’s and that all that they do should reflect Christ living in them.  He reminds them that they are to be of the same mind and that there should be no divisions among them. Too many times I (we)  get offended by another person and start talking with others, then taking sides in a situation, by the way God calls this division, He also says in Proverbs that He hates it.  I think of myself and the times that I have fallen into this trap.  My prayer is that I would remember to take the things I am not happy with to the Lord and leave it there.  I have realized in the past that to dwell on a situation and involve others does nothing to glorify God or solve the situation because I feel I have been misunderstood or hurt.  Many times the person I feel has done the offence does not even know they have offended me.  Jesus gives very clear instructions  with handling this situation in Matthew 18:15-17 “Moreover if thy brother shall trespass against thee, go and tell him his fault between thee and him alone: if he shall hear thee, thou hast gained thy brother. But if he will not hear thee, then take with thee one or two more, that in the mouth of two or three witnesses every word may be established. And if he shall neglect to hear them, tell it unto the church: but if he neglect to hear the church, let him be unto thee as an heathen man and a publican”.   God wants me (us) to be busy sharing His Word to a lost world, none of the things that have upset me will mean a thing when I get to Heaven. 

I really love the verses that Paul talks about not glorying in anything save Christ and Him crucified.  1 Corinthians 1:28-31, “ And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: That no flesh should glory in his presence. But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption: That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord” 1 Corinthians 1:28-31.   These verses have stayed with me for many years after I heard a message preached at a Revival Meeting, that Christ only is worthy to be glorified.

Chapter 3 reminds me to share the Gospel, plant the seed and to know and remember that only God can do the saving.  What does it matter who plants the seed or who does the watering, what matters is that a soul is lead to the saving grace of our Lord. I pray that I will have the boldness to tell those that I meet on a day to day basis of the love and saving grace of our Lord Jesus Christ.

If you have not read Anne’s account of the home going of Mr. Rohof, go to her site and read it.  She has a very clear and accurate salvation message to anyone that does not know for sure where they will spend eternity by reading her blog.

I am looking forward to our next section in I Corinthians and trusting that I will be more focused this week.

Just one more month and I will be in my beautiful homeland of Nova Scotia 🙂

Until next time keep trusting our Lord!

Leave a Reply

Categories

