Posted by: happytoknowhim | May 5, 2007

I Corintians 9-12 BRF

I have been not only been convicted in the reading of I Corinthians, but also I have enjoyed learning the truths of God’s Word.

 In this week’s reading some things got my attention. Paul says that, “For though I preach the gospel, I have nothing to glory of: for necessity is laid upon me; yea, woe is
unto me, if I preach not the gospel!” Chapter 1:
16. It reminded me that it is my duty to share the Gospel and that it is not my words but Christ that is to receive the glory. Paul also says that I am to have the right spirit when sharing the Gospel.  I am to share Christ willingly and not out of obligation or for my friends to see how spiritual I am.  Paul also speaks of giving my all and not be a quitter.  Sometimes it seems like “what’s the use in sharing the Gospel, no one is listening”.  That is not what I am supposed to do, God just wants me to be faithful and quitting is not an option.  I may never know this side of heaven how my life and words have impacted another person.  God is to be glorified NOT me.  My prayer is that I will be a good testimony and that my actions will line up with my words.

Another verse of conviction was chapter 10:13, “There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it”.  This verse leaves me without excuse when I yield to any temptation that may come my way.

The last thing that was impressed upon me is in  Chapter 12,  we are told that we all have a purpose in the work of the Lord and every job is important from the preacher to the janitor.  Just as every part of the body has its own purpose and every part is needed in order  to function properly, so it is with every member of the church.  We are not all ask to do the same thing, but no job is more important that another.  Sometimes we think that what we do doesn’t matter, but if we only stopped to think what would happen to our testimony as a church if the bathrooms never got cleaned, the preacher didn’t have a message ready, the song-leader didn’t show up, the piano player didn’t feel like playing that day, the person responsibility to pay the bills didn’t think it important to pay the utilities, the members didn’t feel like being in church.  I think you get what I ‘m trying to say.  Every member has a position to fill to make a church work  properly to bring glory to God.  Every position is important and God sees the biggest and the smallest thing that is done for His glory. 

That’s my review for this week.  Now it’s time to read the other reviews!

Until next time, keep smiling and brightening someone’s day:)

Leave a Reply

Categories

