Posted by: happytoknowhim | July 20, 2007

Genesis 14-19

Since I couldn’t get Woodpress to cooperate last Friday, I will add to my review from Chapter 12 starting with Abraham.

If only I could have more of Abraham’s faith.  He left everything that was familiar to him and went with his family to a place he did not know.   And Sarah she just followed her husband – that is faith.   God blessed Abraham for his faith and promised him a heritage that was like the stars of heaven that could not be numbered.   I wonder how many blessings God has had to withhold from me because I was not obedient to His Word.

Next we see what grief greed can cause.  Abraham took his nephew, Lot with him and strife began between the herdsmen of Abraham and Lot so they needed to separate and go their separate ways.  Abraham could have told Lot where he could have land, but instead he gave him first choice.   I wish I could say that if I were in that same position, I would do what Abraham did, but I know I would probaly want the best land as well.  What I think is the best would no doubt not be good for me.  Lot began his downfall from  that time on.  First he looked, then he went toward the city of Sodom, and then he enters and sits at the gate of the city and from there he continues to go downhill.  It is a sad commentary.  Before I critize Lot too much though, I must remember this verse of Scripture, “Ye therefore, beloved, seeing ye know these things before, beware lest ye also, being led away with the error of the wicked, fall from your own stedfastness”  II Peter 3:17.   Because Abraham took the land that was not so good, God blessed him in abundance.  I pray that the Lord would give me a heart to give up what is rightfully mine to another person as Abraham did.

In chapter 16 I can also see myself as Sarah.  When things do not happen as quickly as I would like, I try things my way and not wait on the Lord.  Sarah didn’t wait for God and tried to intervene with a human solution and in the end caused herself much sorrow and turmoil.  It was not and never could be God’s plan as He had told Abraham that the godly seed would come from Sarah’s son, Issac.   I know for me it is hard to wait for things to happen and just like Sarah, it is more often to my sorrow.  A lesson I need to learn – sooner than later!!  I cause so many unnecessary problems for myself because I am too impulsive. – a really bad habit to have!

These are just a few areas I found myself in while reading these chapters.  I have been enjoying spending time in this book – so many things to learn and so many good examples for me to follow as well as many to stay clear of.  Sarah is a godly example for any of us ladies to follow.

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the reviews.  Until next time – keep smiling:)

Leave a Reply

Categories

