Posted by: happytoknowhim | August 5, 2007

Genesis 26 – 29

This last week didn’t leave much time for writing a review, although I don’t see how I can make any excuse when Shannon found time to write a review with her church holding a VBS and I know how busy that makes your week.  I decided even if it is late I would share a couple ot things that I noticed from last weeks’s reading.

First, in chapter 26 there was a famine in the land as was with Abraham and he went down to Egypt, so with isaac he went to the Philistines and did much the same as his father did.   Abraham told Sarah to say she was his sister not his wife, Isaac did the same. Even though both men showed their lack of faith, God showed mercy and grace to them, He protected their wives in both situations and promised them that they would a great nation would come of their seed.  I’m so glad that God does not give up on us for our lack of trusting Him in situations that appear to be too hard to understand and He lets us see a positive outcome.  Fear causes us to do many unwise things and fear does not come from God. II Timothy 1:7 “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind”.  This passage also made me realize how important it is to be a good example for those that are watching, that our actions would not cause another to stumble.

Next in chapter 27 it shows just how far we can go to be deceptive.  God had already revealed to Rebekah that the older son would serve the younger, but just like me, Rebekah thought that God needed her help to bring about His will.  I am sure God was not pleased with the lies that were told, seeing that it is part of the Ten Commandments that He wrote Exodus 20:16 “Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy neighbour”.
I think Rebekah was grieved by her decision as Jacob was sent away for his own safety and she missed the joy of having her son close by.

In chapter 29 I am reminded that how I treat others is how I can expect to be treated.  Laban deceived Jacob in his promise to give Rachel to him when he had served for seven years, he didn’t tell Jacob from the beginning that the custom was for the oldest to be married before the younger, he just made him think that Leah was Rachel (I haven’t figured out yet how Jacob would not have known it wasn’t Rachel).  Jacob was very upset with Labon, but he, with the help of his mother, (Scary thought)  had deceived his father into giving him the blessing.  I couldn’t help but think of the saying “what goes around, comes around”.  The Bible says we will reap what we sow, Galatians 6:7 “Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap”.

I hope this review makes some sort of sense.  I know that there is much more to be gleaned from this weeks reading and I pray that as I am faced with difficult decisions that God would bring back to my memory the heartaches that come from being deceptive and not trusting completely in Him.

I am going to read Shannon’s review now.  I will do my best to get my review posted on time next week:)  Have a great week! 


 

Responses

  1. Hey Barb. I didn’t think of the fact that Jacob was getting a taste of his own medicine with the whole deception thing. We all notice different things sometimes. 🙂
    Also, it was a little bit of a revelation to me that fear causes me to do unwise things. Never thought about that, I fear a lot and never think that it is clouding my mind.
    Gotta run, thanks for the review. 🙂
    ~Shannon


Leave a Reply

Categories

