Posted by: happytoknowhim | August 24, 2007

Genesis 39 – 44 BRF

I don’t have much to share this week from reading Genesis 39- 44.  Maybe I just wasn’t focused enough:(  I am also not feeling the greatest.  I have a miserable summer cold:(  So if this review is all over the map – please forgive me.

I must say though that I wish I could say that I would react to wrong doing to me as  Joseph did.  It totally amazes me how he handled each situation.  Joseph couldn’t see any more than the day he was living in.  He didn’t see the plan that God had for him like we do.  He was just a young man when he was sold to Potiphar. He was in a strange country with strangers.  It seems like right from the start that Joseph had a godly testimony and attitude.  The Bible doesn’t give any indication that he rebelled at any time about his circumstances.  Because of Joseph’s life God blessed him in all that he did as well as the Egyptian’s house. Genesis 39:5 “And it came to pass from the time that he had made him overseer in his house, and over all that he had, that the LORD blessed the Egyptian’s house for Joseph’s sake; and the blessing of the LORD was upon all that he had in
the house, and in the field”.

Again we see Joseph’s character when his master’s wife tempted him to commit adultery with her.  He does what is right and this gets him thrown in jail. Even in prison God caused him to be blessed.  He could be trusted in the things he was given to do.  As I was reading this portion of Scripture, it reminded me why we should be careful not to put ourselves into situations of compromise.  We should make sure that we are never in a position of being alone with the opposite sex unless it is a husband, father, son or brother as ladies.  We have known or heard of lives being ruined or damaged by accusations and gossip whether true or untrue.  We need to make sure that there is no cause to be suspected of wrong doing. I Thessalonians 5:22“Abstain from all appearance of evil”.

In Chapter 42 we see that it comes to pass that as Joseph had said of his dream that his brothers would bow before him.   Joseph is a great example of compassion and forgiveness for us to follow.  He suffered more injustice than I will endure my whole life yet he still forgave.  I don’t like to be falsely accused and my first reaction would be to justify myself.  It doesn’t seem that Joseph ever handles his situation in this manner – I have a lesson to learn here!  I think Joseph’s brothers could truly relate to Numbers 32:23 “… be sure your sin will find you out”.  They were feeling very guilty in chapter 43: 21-22.

In Chapter 44 it appears that the brothers are showing some remorse for what they had done to their brother.  It goes to show what jealousy, if allowed to fester, can cause us to do.  This whole situation began from jealously, of course we know that it was all in God’s plan.  I was also reminded in this chapter of what Jesus has done for me.  He willingly went to the cross to take my place for my sin.  I will never be able to thank Him enough for all He has done.  Judah was willing to take Benjamin’s place and to bear the consequences.  In all this God had the perfect plan.  None of these people had the roadmap in front of them as we do and yet we still mess up everyday in our lives.  I thank God that He is  merciful, gracious, and forgiving – I would be in BIG trouble.

I have been very encouraged while reading Genesis and a little sorry that we are coming to the end of the book.  I know that there are many more truths for me to learn.

I am off now to read the other reviews.  Until next time – keep looking up!!!

Responses

  1. Great Barb! There really is so much to learn and I’m with you on knowing that we missed a bunch, but we’ll come back to it again right? 🙂 you picked out good stuff to write. Lots of good, hard things I need to be told. So glad you’re in on this! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

