Posted by: happytoknowhim | September 7, 2007

Acts 1 – 7 BRF

Well this has been another busy week.  David and Trista  (a couple from our church) were married on September 3rd. What a beautiful God honouring wedding it was.  It is great to see young people desiring to have Christ at the center of their lives and to want to please Him in all things.

I managed to get all the reading for this week completed but I am not sure how much I learned or retained.  I am still fighting an annoying cough. Excuses!Excuses!!!

So I will share with you a couple things that I realized out of these chapters. In chapter 1, Jesus commanded the apostles not to depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for the promise of the Father.  He told them that they would be baptised with the Holy Ghost. I don’t know about anyone else but I have a hard time waiting and I tnink I would have faiiled this test badly.  The apostles had a big job ahead of them, but Jesus didn’t leave them without the power to fulfil his commands.  The same is true for us, if God gives us a command, He gives us the ability to complete the task.  The same command to be witnesses to our families, our neighbours and all thiose that we meet is the same today. “Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature “ Mark 16:15.

  Jesus promises us that He will come again, “…Ye men of Galilee, why stand ye gazing up into heaven? this same Jesus, which is taken up from you into heaven, shall so come in like manner as ye have seen him go into heaven” Acts 1:11. What a day that will be, when my Jesus I shall see .  It makes me homesick for heaven – no more sin, no more fighting with this flesh that does not want to do what is right in the sight of God.

Can’t you just imaging what it was like to be  there on the day of Pentecost and to hear, “a sound from heaven as of a rushing mighty wind”; To see the evidence of the Holy Spirit on their lives; to see so many turn their hearts to the Lord.  Even after witnessing all these things, there were those who mocked, accused them of being drunk and just would not believe, they would have known the Old testament prophecy also. What a sad statment!  It reminds mefor myself not to take God’s Word lightly, to do what the Scriptures say.  God does not want me to be a hearer of the Word only, but to be a doer of the Word. I need to realize that I will give an account of every message I have heard and every time I have been shown truths from His Word.   The Bible say, “Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin”James 4:17.
 

Acts 3:6  I really liked how Peter shared Jesus with the lame man,”Silver and gold have I none; but such as I have give I thee”, he gave him what he needed- the Lord Jesus Christ.  Peter could have accepted all the glory for himself in this situation, but he didn’t  – all the praise and glory went to God.  What an example for me to follow!

I love verse 13 in chapter 4, “…and they took knowledge of them, that they had been with Jesus”.  What a testimony that would be for each of us that those we are around would be able to tell by our lives that we had been with Jesus.  Something we can all strive for until Jesus comes.

  In 5:42 I like the boldness of Peter and the apostles in the face of persecution they continued to teach and preach Jesus and even to rejoice that they were counted worthy to suffer shame for Him.

There is much more to digest in these chapters, but I will stop here.  I am looking forward to what each of you will share form these chapters.  What a great book of lessons Acts has for us.

Have a blessed Lord’s Day Sunday and keep smiling.  When things get us down – just re-read these chapters and we’ll realize we have things pretty easy!!

Until next time:)

Responses

  1. Weren’t these chapters refreshing!? Great review Barb! You have a wonderful weekend as well. 🙂

  2. Hello – don’t know how I missed your last comment over at Seven Meadows. I just wanted to let you know that I NEVER miss a spelling mistake, I just ignore most of them in the spirit of Proverbs 17:9. 🙂

    Haven’t had much time for the blogs since school started, but I think we are settling into a routine and I do hope to get back to reading and writing soon.

    Have yourself a good day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

