Posted by: happytoknowhim | September 21, 2007

Acts 15 – 21 BRF

Since I didn’t do a review last week, I want to just mention a couple of things from Chapters 8-14. First thing that got my attention was the change knowing Jesus as our Saviour makes in our lives.  Praise the Lord! When Paul met the Saviour on the road to Damascus he said, “Lord, what wilt thou have me to do?”.  Paul went from persecuting Christians to preaching the Gospel of Jesus Christ with boldness.  He faced many people that were afraid of him because of his previous reputation, yet he continued on. 

Next I was reminded that God tells me to pray believing.  When the people were gathered together praying for Peter in Mary’s house and their prayers were answered they didn’t believe.  Rhoda told them that Peter was at the gate, they said, “thou art mad”  and then when she insisted that it was Peter, they said, ” it is his angel”.  Obviously they weren’t expecting their prayer to be answered.  How many times do I pray, but do not expect my prayer to be answered.  I think of myself as “O ye of little faith”.

In chapter 16 Paul and Silas suffered much persecution, they were beaten and thrown in jail, but instead of complaining or arguing their innocence they “prayed and sang praises to God“. When the doors of the prison were opened and every prisoners bands were loosed, they could have escaped but they didn’t.  When the jailor saw what  had happened he was ready to kill himself thinking that all the prisoners had escaped, which would mean he woud be killed.  Verse 31 is a verse that I have claimed, since I believed on the Lord Jesus Christ, for my unsaved children and family , “And they said, Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house“.  

In verse 37, I like Paul’s boldness in waiting for the magistrates to come and tell them thay were free. Since they had condemmed them in public, he wasn’t going to just slip away quietly. 

In chapter 17:6 these men were known as the men, “… that have turned the world upside down..”.   This is the kind of Christians we (I) need to be today, the world needs to see the same boldness in us (me) to  share the Gospel with everyone we (I) see and that lives would be changed for eternity.   Time is running out, Jeremiah 8:20 says, “The harvest is past, the summer is ended, and we are not saved”.   

We read in chapter 20 about the man Eutychus falling into a deep sleep because “Paul was long preaching”  he fell down from the window.  After Paul  told the people that he was alive,  he continued and “talked a long while, even till break of day”.   As I read this passage of Scripture, I thought about our services today.  So many times people get upset if the preacher is not finished preaching on the dot of 12:00.  Maybe it is time to determine to love the Word of God and have a desire to hear more and forget about watching the clock!!

Paul was confident that he had preached the Gospel faithfully and that he would be going bound in the spirit to Jerusalem not knowing what he would face.  He did know that bonds and afflicions would face him in every city.  This did not stop him, he was determined to finish the course set before him.  Before he left those that accompanied him, he warned them that grevious wolves would enter in among them, not sparing the flock; even some of their own men would rise up against them as they fed the church of God and draw many disciples away.  He told them to, “…watch, and remember, that by the space of three years I ceased not to warn every one night and day with tears”.

Paul gives a great example of boldness we as Christians need in our lives.  When  Agabus foretold what would happen to Paul if he went to Jerusalem all those with him tried to convince him not to go.  Paul said, “What mean ye to weep and to break mine heart? for I am ready not to be bound only, but also to die at Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus.”   Then they said, “And when he would not be persuaded, we ceased, saying, The will of the Lord be done”.

These are some of the truths I was reminded of as I read these chapters this week.  Now it is time to retire for the night.  I hope it makes some sense as it is late and I have an even more difficult time putting my thoughts in order:(

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the reviews.  Have a great weekend and even more a great Lord’s Day.

Until next time,  keep on trusting our Lord.  He is worthy.
 

Responses

  1. Hi Barb. So glad to see your faithful name there on Mr.Linky! Thanks for being part of this. Great review. Glad you touched on the ‘watch and remember’ part. This is serious stuff of which I need constant reminders! Have a wonderful weekend! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

