Posted by: happytoknowhim | October 2, 2007

Acts 22-28 BRF

I realize this post is not in the week it should have been, but  I thought I would just write a review anyway.   It seems that the  Lord keeps bringing to my mind the things He showed me while reading Acts 22-28 – so here goes.

First thought was that Paul went from a blasphemer of Christ to a proclaimer of  the Gospel of Christ.  Paul suffered much for his preaching of the Gospel.  In chapter 25:7  “…the Jews which came down
from Jerusalem stood round about, and laid many and grievous complaints against Paul, which they could not prove.”
  Paul was falsely accused, the Jews could not prove any of their complaints against him. Paul was beaten, imprisoned, ship wrecked, etc. all for his faith.  In verse 11 he said “For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die…”.  Paul was not afraid to stand for his faith and was willing to pay the consequences for his faith.  When we take a stand for right we also have to be ready to accept the consequences for our decision.  Our decisions are not always popular with this world and we also can be falsely accused. 

When Paul went before King Agrippa and told him the things he was accused of,  King Agrippa  knew that he had done nothing worthy of death.  King Agrippa knew the Scriptures.  I believe the sadddest words ever spoken were in verse 28 of chapter 26, “Then Agrippa said unto Paul, Almost thou persuadest me to be a Christian.”  I believe many today are saying the same thing, they are waiting for a more convenient time to trust Christ as their Saviour.  This is such a dangerous attitude to presume that their lives are in their  control and that there will always be time  to make a decision for Christ when they are ready.  There is no fear of a holy righteuos God or a literal hell.

Chapter 27: 10 Paul warns the centurion that it is not a good idea to leave the fair havens, he warns them that much hurt and damage to the ship and themselves would occur.  The centurion choose to believe his master and the owner of the ship and went his own way.  The account shows who he should have listed to.  This made me think of how much the master of this world is listened to instead of the the God of heaven.  This should be a warning to all to believe and obey God and not all  that Satan offers through this world’s sugar coated deception.  Paul told the centurion and the sailors that all needed to remain in the ship if they were to be saved.  This reminded me that there is  only one way to be  saved, only through faith and belief  in our Lord Jesus Christ.  Like the chorus says, “No other way, Jesus is the only way”

I am thankful for the example of Paul’s life and boldness to preach the Gospel come what may.  I wonder what would happen today if there were more of us like Paul willing to deliver the message of Christ whatever the consequence.

I like these verses  and it certainly sums up Paul’s life.  2 Timothy 4:6-7, “For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith.” After all he had been through, Paul could say that he had remained faithful and had finished his race strong.

Well these are the thoughts I had to share.  I have been enjoying reading Ezra even though I do get bogged down with all the names; this truly is good to teach me discipline.

I will try to be on time with the next review. I won’t promise though as there are many things going on at our church in the next week.

Until next time – keep smiling and trusting our Lord!!!

Responses

  1. Great Barb! Paul is great example in boldness for me as well. And that “Almost thou persuadest me…” is very sad.
    I’m looking forward to seeing the reviews on Ezra too. It’s soooo good!
    Til next time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

