Posted by: happytoknowhim | October 13, 2007

I Peter – BRF

I will try to write a short BRF tonight.  It has been a very busy and exciting week at our church.  We have had special meeting with David Cloud as well as an all day Thanksgiving Conference (this is an annual event).  My head is still trying to process all the things I heard and hopefully learned, so please forgive me if this review is sort of disjointed:)

I really enjoyed I Peter there are so many encouraging truths along with some warnings  for the Christian.

In chapter 2: 9 we are told “But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people;(emphesis mine) that ye should shew forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light” We should not be upset or amazed when we are looked at as peculiar, but rejoice in the fact that we are seen as peculiar since God’s Word says we are  “a peculiar people”.  We are to be different from the world and the world should see us as different.  I, for one, want to be as far from looking, acting or thinking like the world as I can be.  The only thing I want to do in this world is to see lost souls won to Christ. I need boldness to witness!!

Chapter 3 has a lot to say about being wrongly accused and taking it graciously.  Wow!! that is a hard thing to do;  it is difficult to be  rebuked for some wrong that I have committed but to be falsely accused is really hard to take.  I have to remind myself in these situations of how much more Christ was falsely accused and what He suffered for my sin.  If anyone had a right to retaliate it was christ.

We are praying for revival in our land and it seems to me in chapter 4 that we as Christians must begin to obey the Scriptures completely  and be the Christians we should be verses 17 ,18 says,”For the time is come that judgment (emphesis mine) must begin at the house of God: and if it first begin at us, what shall the end be of them that obey not the gospel of God? And if the righteous scarcely be saved, where shall the ungodly and the sinner appear?”  The hour is late and if we expect to see our loved ones and friends come to know Christ, I believe that they must see Christ living in us.

We cannot let our guard down as the Scripure says in 5:8, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour”.  Satan would love to see our witness and testimony spoiled so that we would be a stumbluing block to other Christians and to those we are trying to win for Christ.

Well that’s it for this time.  This was a great book to study and I am looking forward to the next one.

Have a great Lord’s Day.  Until next time.  Keep trusting our Lord!!

Responses

  1. Hey Barb! Wasn’t 1 Peter great? Everyone’s review seems to touch on something different. Love it!! I also am jealous of your meetings this week. I’ve heard a bit about them and they sound great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

