Posted by: happytoknowhim | October 20, 2007

II Peter – BRF

Well here I am late again:(  The first two days in reading II Peter I really didn’t see too much that caught my attention.  While reading on Thursday some things did catch my attention!  Here thay are.

1:2 -4 tells me of the wonderful grace of God and the peace that comes from the knowledge of God and Jesus our Lord.  His power and promises are all in His Word which tells me I should be reading and learning His Word.  What a wonderful Saviour I serve!!

1:5 –  8 tells me to  “…giving all diligence, add to your faith virtue; and to virtue knowledge; And to knowledge temperance; and to temperance patience; and to patience godliness; And to godliness brotherly kindness; and to brotherly kindness charity.  For if these things be in you, and abound, they make you that ye shall neither be barren nor unfruitful in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.”  I realize that I will never know or understand all of God’s Word , but I should be always striving to learn more and obey what I have learned.  I have heard someone say in the past,” Why would God show you something knew, if you are not willing to obey what He has already shown you?”  I wonder how much I have missed!

2:1 Peter tells us that there will be false teachers among us.  This reminds me that if I know the Word of God and understand the seriousness of reading His Word,  I won’t be deceived by false teaching.  When I became a Christian, this was one of my biggest fears that I would be led astray by false teaching.  I was not interested in hearing things that would make me feel better or excuse my sin.  I had already spent a good deal of my life doing my own thing.  I thank the Lord for the Pastor God has given me.  He preaches God’s Word and makes no apology for the truth of God’s Word.

3:3 tells about the mockers and scoffers of the coming again of Jesus Christ.  In verse 8 we read that we are not to, “…be not ignorant of this one thing, that one day is with the Lord as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”  God is not bound by time as we are, He is never late, never early, but right on time.  I need to learn this when I am impatient for things to happen.

3:9 is a very encouraging verse to me as it is one very important prayer I can pray and know that I am praying in His will because He says that He “…is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.”  I have unsaved children,  family members, and friends and I know that God wants them to be saved.  I am thankful for God’s longsuffering to me.

3:16 also tells me that in God’s Word there are things hard to be understood, I know that on this earth I will not understand all that is in His Word, but the things I do understand I need to do.  One day everything will be clear. I Corinthians 13:12 says, “For now we see through a glass, darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.”

Those are my thoughts on II Peter and now I will go and read the other reviews and I know that I will see things that I missed in my reading.  Next on to Zephaniah and what I can glean from this book.

I trust you will all have a wonderful day tomorrow in the house of our Lord.

Until next time, keep trusting the Lord:)

Responses

  1. I just stopped my ‘Building Rome in a Day’ for a few minutes to check for any book reviews. So glad yours was there! 🙂 You certainly got more out of this week than I did. It was great to see what you gleaned and then I learn through you. Love it. 🙂
    I am really enjoying Zephaniah so far.


Leave a Reply

Categories

