Posted by: happytoknowhim | November 9, 2007

Colossians – BRF

Well another busy week at our church. We had a great Missions Conference with many challenges to be considered and acted upon, not just heard and forgotten when the conference is over. 

I did manage to read Colossians every day but I am not sure how much actually got into my brain.

I found in this week’s reading alot about praying, giving thanks also how much God loves me. Here are just a few things that got my attention.

Chapter 1:2 Paul calls the saints “faithful brethren in Christ” as I read this statment I wondered what he would say about me.   Am I faithful in Christ?  More work to be done I fear!! v. 3  He says he prays always for them.  Again do I spend time in prayer – not nearly enough. Verse 8 he again says he does not cease to pray for these saints at Colosse.  This reminds me that I need to be praying more for my Pastor and all those that are sharing the Gospel to lost sinners. I need to be thankful that I have a Pastor that loves and cares for me who preaches and teaches God’s Word without apology.

When I read verses 12 to16, it overwhelms me to think of how much God loves me and what He has done for me.  He was willing to send His only begotten Son to the cross of Calvary to pay for my sins.  Because of the work of Christ, the Bible says that He presents me, “…to present you holy and unblameable and unreproveable in his sight”.  Even though this is being written to the saints at Colosse, I believe that these things  can be applied to my life.  God’s Word is the roadmap for me to follow.

Chapter 2 tells me to, “Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.” If I dwell on God’s Word and, “Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” it won’t be easy to be deceived by this world and false teachers.

I was saved later in life and even though I know that God has forgiven me for all my sins, Satan never ceases to remind me of those sins of the past, if I allow him (Satan) to do this, it robs me of the joy of my salvation, which I’m thinking is a sin too!!.  I am so thankful that when God forgave me He says, “As far as the east is from the west, so far hath he removed our transgressions from us.”  Praise the Lord!! I can’t help but think of the words of the song “Nothing of myself I bring, only to the cross I cling”.
 

Chapter 3: 2 I am reminded how the things of this world will be of no value to me when I get to heaven.  I have to continually be reminded of where my affections are.  Do I think as much and more of seeing my family saved (this is my constant prayer) than of my own selfish desires?  This is a very sombering thought and I pray that these verses will be constantly brought to mind and that I will ask myself this question, “What value will this be in eternity?”  as I go about my day.  This is a tall order for me, but one that I should strive for, not one I can do on my own I will have to be relying on my heavenly Father to accomplish any of this goal.

The last thing I see is that I need to have an honest testimony so that the love of Christ shines through.  Chapter 4: 16 says, ” Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all
wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.”
Chapter 4:5,6 says,”Walk in wisdom toward them that are without, redeeming the time. Let your speech be alway with grace, seasoned with salt, that ye may know how ye ought to answer every man.”

These are some things that I stood out to me as I read.  I hope it makes some sense and not too disjointed.

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the reviews and to see the truths that God showed through the reading of this Book. I’m looking forward to what Book Shannnon has for us to read and bechallenged with next week. 

Until next time,  keep on trusting the King of Kings and Lord of Lords!!

Responses

  1. Hi Barb! I just found some time to read your review. It’s not disjointed. 🙂 Great thoughts! Have a great weekend.
    ~Shannon


Leave a Reply

Categories

