Posted by: happytoknowhim | January 12, 2008

Philemon – BRF

First of all I wonder if there are any ladies that would like to join me in reading the Book of Proverbs through once a month again this year.  Thanks to Charmin for starting this:)  I have really enjoyed the lessons taught in this book and see something I missed each time I read.

I didn’t really have anything that jumped out at me in the Book of Philemon.  I do believe that it reminds me to forgive others as Jesus has forgiven me.

Paul starts out by letting Philemon know he appreciates him and shares his love for him as a brother  in the Lord.  He lets him know that he is willing to pay back any debt that Onesimus would owe him.  He says in verse 18,”If he hath wronged thee, or oweth thee ought, put that on mine account”.    Paul reminds Philemon that he was in need of forgiveness as well and he beseeched  him to show grace and forgiveness to Onesimus as he also received in time past.

Paul tells Philemon that Onesimus is a servant of the Lord and although he“Which in time past was to thee unprofitable, but now profitable to thee and to me” verse 11.  This reminded me of myself before I came to know the Lord – how I was of no profit to the Lord’s work, but He did not turn me away.  I need to show this same grace and kindness to those around me that do not know my Saviour.  I find myself at times thinking “what is wrong with these people that they do not care what price Jesus paid so that they could have forgiveness of sin and a home in heaven when life has ended on this earth.”  Then  I think but for the grace of God, there go I.

That is all I have to share this time.  I am looking forward to reading Leviticus this next week.  I have read this book a few times over the years, and I know there is always something new no matter how many times you read God’s Word.  It truly is the Living Word.

I am going to go and read the other reviews now.  Thanks again Shannon for not giving up, it keeps me reading even when I don’t necessarily want to or feel like it. 

Until next time – happy reading and obeying the Word:):)

Responses

  1. Oh Hooray Barb!! It’s so nice to hear from you!! I was starting to get worried about you. Philemon is such a small book and everyone touched on something different. Amazing. Great review and now on to Leviticus. I’m a little jealous that you have already read it through a few times. 🙂

  2. Great review, Barb! I would love to do the Proverbs thing. I haven’t been very consistent doing it on my own so the accountability of others doing it should whip me in to gear!

  3. loved your review Barb! Like Shannon, I’m amazed at how we all came out with something different in this tiny little book. Sometimes it’s the tiny ones that really get us thinking…maybe because we have less to take in 🙂

    Thanks for your prayers for me Barb…I am grateful for you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

