Posted by: happytoknowhim | January 28, 2008

BRF – Leviticus 1-10

Well here I am at last.  I couldn’t get on my site so I just called on my friend Jenn and guess what when I came back to my site the “New Post” was showing up!!!!!!

I must say that I am not clear on all the offerings so far that we have been reading, but one thing I am sure of is that I am so very thankful that when Jesus shed His blood for my sin it was once for all.  I can not even begin to imagine what it would be like to sacrifice an animal every time I committed a sin. 

I am going to share some things, that are not my own,  but from J. Vernon McGee,  of how these scrifices picture  Christ in each of the offerings.

First, The Burnt Offering This offering shows Christ as our substitute. This offering had to be without spot or blemish just as our Saviour was without spot or blemish. God calls this offering a sweet savour unto Himself.

Next was the Meat Offering. This offering pictures the humanity and the loveliness of Christ.  The meat offering sets forth Christ in His consecration. It also represents the consecration of the believers in Christ. This offering is also a sweet savour unto God.

Then the Peace Offering pictures Christ as our peace. As a sinner, we can come to God because Christ made peace by the blood of the cross.  The peace offering  as well  is an offering of a sweet savour unto God.  The three sweet savour offerings set forth the person of Christ in all of His glorious character.

Then we come to the offerings that are not a sweet savour unto the Lord.  The Sin Offering.A noticeable feature is that it is the longest account of any offering – it is twice as long as any of the other offerings. As you read the accounts of the other offerings the Burnt Offering is recorded in seventeen verses, the Meat Offering in sixteen verses; the Peace Offering in seventeen verses; the Trespass Offering in nineteen verses but the Sin Offering has thirty-five verses. I had never noticed or thought of this before.  God has a lot to show us through this offering.  Some of the  contrasts that J. Vernon McGee points out are: The burnt offering tells who Christ is; the sin offering tells what Christ did; in the burnt offering Christ meets the demands of God’s high and holy standard;  in the sin offering Christ meets the deep and desperate needs of man.  In the burnt offering we see the preciousness of Christ; in the sin offering we see the hatefulness of sin.  The burnt offering was voluntary (see 1:3); the sin offering was commanded.  The burnt offering asended  (up); the sin offering was poured out (down).  Chapter 4 tells us of the sins of Ignorance, of the Priest, of the Congregation, of the Ruler, and lastly of the Common People.  I would fall in the category of the Common People and I am so thankful that every sin that I have committed has been paid for by the blood of Christ, past, present and future.  What a wonderful Saviour!!! (My own thoughts).

The last offering was the Trespass Offering – chapter 5.  J. Vernon McGee shares this insight.  This offering was made for sin as an act.  (See Acts 5:1-6:7).  Specific acts of sin committed ignorantly, (5:1-13); non-specific acts of sin committed in ignorance.(5:14-19); specific acts of sin committed deliberately. (6:1-7)

These two non-sweet savour offerings set forth the work of Christ on the cross for sin.  The Scriptures say in 2 Corinthians 5:21, “For he hath made him to be sin for us, who knew no sin; that we might be made the righteousness of God in him.” (emphasis mine).

I have read the book of Leviticus a few times before, but I think I can truly say that I have never thought of  how Christ was represented in each of the offerings.

One more thing I was reminded of while reading this past two weeks was in chapter 10  how that our sin will not go unpunished and that our sin  not only affects us but has a far reaching effect.  Nadad and Abihu knew what God had commanded but they did their own thing anyway.  God brought swift punishment upon them for their sin in the form of death.  Their sin affected their father and brothers.  Can you imagine how their father and brothers felt when they were told that they could not show any outward appearance of mourning.  Chapter 10:6, “And Moses said unto Aaron, and unto Eleazar and unto Ithamar, his sons, Uncover not your heads, neither rend your clothes; lest ye die, and lest wrath come upon all the people: but let your brethren, the whole house of Israel, bewail the burning which the LORD hath kindled.”  As a parent this would be a very difficult command.  I wonder what our world would be like today, especially the legal system, if God’s laws were still heeded.  I am sure each of us would be more careful to take the law seriously as well the consequences that would come when the law was broken.

Well a lot of this review was not my own words, but I hope it will be an encouragement to you.

I have not had time to read any of your reviews for the last couple of weeks, so as soon as I can I will read them and see what you learned from this book of the Law so far.

Until next time – keep trusting our Lord, He alone is worthy!!!

Responses

  1. Thank you for all the information Barb! That clears up a lot of stuff for me. I wish I had noticed all that stuff myself. 😦 So much to learn!

  2. thanks for all the thoughts Barb! Both yours and his thoughts contained information that i needed to hear!


Leave a Reply

Categories

