Posted by: happytoknowhim | March 1, 2008

Nehemiah 1-6

I finally got my site up so I could post.  Jenn don’t go too far away as I had to go find your last help email before I could find out how to post !!!!

As is often the case when I am reading my Bible, I find myself in the midst of what is happening and this book was no different.  I really enjoy Nehemiah.  I couldn’t help but think as I read 4:6 “… the people had a mind to work.”  that I need to have that kind of character and testimony.  I need to set my priorities and get to doing the work at hand and not look at the things I want to do or how  hard I think it might bei.

In the margin of my Bible I found notes that I had written from a Bible study.  I want to share some of the snares we (I ) get caught up with.

First in 6:1-5 there is the snare of ungodly alliances.  Tobiah and Sanballat tried to get Nehemiah’s focus off of the job at hand.  They were not interested in a meeting to encourage or help Nehemiah in his task of rebuilding the wall but to stop the work.   I like his answer in verse 3, “…I am doing a great work, so that I cannot come down: why should the work cease, whilst I leave it, and come down to you?”  I think too often I get my eyes off of the task at hand and listen to myself  (which is not a reliable source) and do not honour God in finishing the thing I am supposed to be doing.

The next snare is the snare of exhaustion v6:6-9.  There is no doubt that the people were weary as they worked to build the wall.  They were not only tired but they also were hearing all the false accusations.  Accusations that Nehemiah was only wanting the wall built for his own purpose, that he wanted to be king.  In times of  exhaustion it is very easy to fall into the wrong attitudes.  We get to thinking that too much is expected of us, I just went through this kind of attitude I am sorry to say, and that it is impossible to do everything .  Guess what — in our own strength it probably is, but we are not supposed to be relying on our own strength but God’s.   It is so easy to fall into this situation when we get tired and discouraged.  Nehemiah relied on God to give him the strength and encouragement he needed.  Something I am still trying to learn

Then there is the snare of fear 6:10-14.  Wow! this is a big one.  Shemaiah  tried another approach to take Nehemiah away form his task.  He told him that his enemies would come to kill him at night.  Again Nehemiah had the answer v11, “Should such a man as I flee? and who is there, that, being as I am, would go into the temple to save his life? I will not go in.”  Fear is a snare to  all of us and God says it is not from him, 2 Timothy1:7, “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”  also Romans 8:15 “For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear…..”  God says being afraid keeps us in bondage.  I am trying to remember to go to God’s Word and really trust what He says in Psalm 56:3 “What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee.”

We also fall into the snare of fear of the brethren 6:15-19.   Nehemiah’s enemies threatened every way they could think of.   They did not want the wall finished but in the end they had to admit that  “this work was wrought of our God”  Nehemiah never broke under all the pressure from the enemy and he saw the victory and completion of the work God had set before him v15,  “So the wall was finished in the twenty and fifth day of the
month Elul, in fifty and two days.”
  What a testimony of totally relying on God and the strength that only He can give.

I hope this will be an encouragement to you, it was to me and it reminded me again of my need for a heavenly Father to watch over me.  I wish I could say that I will not fall into any of these snares again, but the reality is that when I take my eyes off Christ, I will be caught up  in these snares of life.  I am thankful for a loving Father that forgives and keeps me.

I have not read the other reviews and I hope that I will be able to find time this afternoon.  It is always an encouragement and help to me to see what others have gleaned from god’s Word.

Until next time—keep trusting our Lord.  Have a wonderful day in the house of the Lord Sunday:):)

Responses

  1. Wow Barb! Great points from your study! I’ll be thinking through these now that you’ve brought them to my attention. Lots to mull over. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

