Posted by: happytoknowhim | March 22, 2008

BRF Romans 1-6

Well this was another busy and exciting week for me.  I went to the annual John F. Welsh Good Friday conference yesterday.  In  26 years, I have only missed one as I was too sick to go:( 😦 . As in the past it was a wonderful day of great (convicting) preaching, good music, great food and wonderful fellowship with other like minded churches and believers who love the Lord and want to serve Him. It just keeps getting better each year!!!! 

As for Romans  where do you start, there is just so much in these chapters.  One review certainly won’t do.  I can see us coming back to this book in the future.

Chapter 3 is where I will share some things that were brought to my attention.  The Bible says in verse 4 “let God be true, but every man a liar”, so what God says in His Word is what I am going to trust and believe.  The Bible also says that God cannot lie, Titus 1:2 “In hope of eternal life, which God, that cannot lie, promised before the world began “. (emphasis mine).

When I compare God’s righteousness to mine, I am as the Bible says in Isaiah 64:6, ” But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags; and we all do fade as a leaf; and our iniquities, like the wind, have taken us away.” Lest I think I have any good in myself, I can check out  the following verses from Romans and find a good description of what I am really like.   This is a title from one of my Bible studies:

“The Anatomy of Sin” “verses 13-18)

The Throat – v.13 “Their throat is an open sepulchre”  Also Psalm 5:9 “…their throat is an open sepulchre”

The Tongue – v. 13 “with their tongues they have used deceit” Also Also Psalm 5:9 “they flatter with their tongue”

The Lips – v.13 “the poison of asps is under their lips:”  As well Psalm 140:3, “They have sharpened their tongues like a serpent; adders’ poison is under their lips…”

The Mouth – v.14 “Whose mouth is full of cursing and bitterness” Psalm 5:9 says “”For there is no faithfulness in their mouth”and  Psalm 10:7   “His mouth is full of cursing and deceit and fraud: under his tongue is mischief and vanity”  Matthew 12:34 says, “A good man out of the good treasure of the heart bringeth forth good things: and an evil man out of the evil treasure bringeth forth evil things.

The Feet – vs. 15 and 16 “Their feet are swift to shed blood:Destruction and misery are in their ways”  Also Isaiah 59:7  “Their feet run to evil, and they make haste to shed innocent blood: their thoughts are thoughts of iniquity; wasting and destruction are in their paths.”

The Mind – v. 17 “And the way of peace have they not known” Isaiah 59:8 says,“The way of peace they know not; and there is no judgment in their goings: they have made them crooked paths: whosoever goeth therein shall not know peace.”

The Eyes – v.18 “There is no fear of God before their eyes”Another Scripture Psalm 36:1 “The transgression of the wicked saith within my heart, that there is no fear of God before his eyes.”

Jeremiah 17:9 tells me the truth about myself, “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”

No doubt about it, I have many problems with my own righteousness.  I am so thankful that because of the blood of my Saviour, that God does not see me in my present state but in my positional standing in Christ.  Truly from these Scripture verses I have nothing to glory in except my Lord and Saviour Jesus  Christ.  2 Corinthians 10:17, “But he that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.”

These Scriptures have given me lots to think about and seeing myself in this light was all that I could write on this time.  I  thank God for the truth from His Word that brings me back to reality when I think I am so good and have made it – no more learning to do – no more struggles to contend with!! I am looking forward to reading other reviews now. 

Until next time  – keep on trusting the Lord.  Happy Easter!!!

Responses

  1. Great review Barb! We picked the same verses to do a review on… only yours had a much deeper thought process than mine. 🙂 Loved it.
    I am jealous of your Easter services all weekend. Say hello to my family for me! 🙂

  2. Hello Barb! Some great thoughts here on Romans. I too have been lacking in the blog reading at times but I’m glad to read your review today 🙂 and thanks for the comment you left on mine! take care!


Leave a Reply

Categories

