Posted by: happytoknowhim | April 12, 2008

Romans 14-16

Shock!! Shock!! I might finally get a review done on time.  I have been challenged, convicted and encouraged from reading the Book of Romans.  I know that there are many more lessons to be learned and i cannot begin to list all that I have found so far.

Although I have heard sermons and Bible studies on Christian liberty, I have not really learned to use my Christian liberty with others in mind.   It is so easy to be critical of how others do things.  God says that we are not to  judge others in the diet they choose, or the days they choose to observe.   Everyone of us has to make the decision for the things that are done.  We must be convinced that it is not wrong to do in our own mind.  We are always to be pleasing and giving thanks to God for everything.   Chapter 14:7, “For none of us liveth to himself, and no man dieth to himself”,  is a verse that reminds me that anything I do not only affects me but those that are around me.  Paul tells us that we are not  to cause a weaker brother (sister) to stumble.  I wonder how many times I have carelessly hindered the spiritual growth of another by exercising my “Christian liberty”.  What I am doing  may not be wrong, but if it causes my brother or sister  to stumble it is. We are not all at the same level of spiritual maturity.  I trust that someone will care enough about me to tell me when I am hindering another Christian in their walk with the Lord by my actions or attitude.  The Bible tells us that  “..  every one of us shall give account of himself to God”   verse 14.

Paul finishes off this book with a warning to us.  Chapter 16:17-19 says,  “Now I beseech you, brethren, mark them which cause divisions and offences contrary to the doctrine which ye have learned; and avoid them. For they that are such serve not our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly; and by good words and fair speeches deceive the hearts of the simple. For your obedience is come abroad unto all men. I am glad therefore on your behalf: but yet I would have you wise unto that which is good, and simple concerning evil.”   I believe we need to know God’s Word so well that we will not be deceived if a friendly and smooth talker should come into our midst and speak anything that does not line up with His Word.  It is sad to see churches torn apart, and I am positive does not please our Lord, because of man’s opinion and not the Word of God.  This is a really good reason to get involved with Book Review Friday.  We all need to be held accountable to read God’s Word.  It has been a blessing to me as well as an encouragement since Shannon started BRF.  I am sorry to say that I would not be as steadfast in reading the chosen chapters everyday for a week without BRF.  Thank you Shannon for your steadfastness.

This is all I have time for now.  I feel like I have just rambled on and not made much sense. Now I am looking forward to reading other reviews.  I am looking forward to the next book to read.

Until next time, keep smiling:-):-)

 
 

Responses

  1. Great review Barb! I too hope (but know better) that I have not caused others to stumble. I also am wondering what I think is a sin that really isn’t. Hmmm? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

