Posted by: happytoknowhim | September 6, 2008

Proverbs

The book of Proverbs is one of my favourite books.  Before the Lord saved me this is the book I was reading.  There is so much wisdom in this book and so much conviction.

I will just mention a couple of things that stood out to me about how I need to leave things to the Lord and for His timing.  I always want to make things happen or fix things.  This is not a good character trait to have and gets me into hot water a lot of the time.

Provers 3:5 -7 “Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths. Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and
depart from evil.” 
These are the verses I need to keep in memory and quote to myself.  I would do much better if I just would believe and obey what I know God’s Word says when I think I have all the answers to solving life’s problems.

Proverbs 4:23,”Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.”  was a reminder to me that I need to take note to the things I allow to enter my heart.  It is my constant prayer that my heart would be full of the love of Jesus, so that no wicked or unkind thing would come out of my mouth.  Staying in God’s Word and heeding what He says is the thing I need to do.

Proverbs 5 has advice for our men to avoid.  I believe it is also advice for women to keep ourselves proper so that we are not at fault in enticing and tempting men to do wickedly because of our dress and actions. We are instructed to “Abstain from all appearance of evil.”  

That is all I have time for this evening. I am looking forward to what the Lord has to show me next week.  Also to see what others found from this weeks reading.  It is always encouraging to read the reviews.

Until next time – keep on trusting the Lord:)

Responses

  1. So glad to read your review! It is great to have you back. 🙂 Proverbs has something for everyone, no matter where they are at. Love it!

  2. I’m with ya on Proverbs 3:5-7…I’ve always known these verses but living them is way harder and something i really hope I can start to do much more! enjoyed your review and looking forward to next week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

