Posted by: happytoknowhim | September 13, 2008

Proverbs BRF Week Two

This will be a short post this week as it has been a busy and exciting week.  I managed to get the daily reading done, but not much time to really concentrate on what really stood out to me.

The one thing that I did read a lot about was the the things God hates.

Proverbs 6:17-19 “A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief, A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.”   I should hate the things God hates and strive to please my Lord.  God’s commands are for my good, His corection is to show me where I have strayed from Him and to get me back on the right way.  Sin is not something I should see how close I can get to, but how far away from it I can get.

Proverbs 8:13“The fear of the LORD is to hate evil: pride, and arrogancy, and the evil way, and the froward mouth, do I hate.”  I looked up the word “froward” in Webster’s 1828 dictionary, the meaning is “perverse, that is turning from with aversion or reluctance; not willing to yield or comply with what is required ; unyielding; ungovernable; refractory; disobedient; peevish”.   These are not complimentary words, and not things I want to be seen in my life. I continually pray for God’s wisdom and help.  The meaning of wisdom is “the  right and true use of truth and knowledge.”  God has given me the road map in His Word for my life, I need to be willing and obedient to follow it.  Proverbs 8:33-36 says, “Blessed is the man that heareth me, watching daily at my gates, waiting at the posts of my doors.  Hear instruction, and be wise, and refuse it not. For whoso findeth me findeth life, and shall obtain favour of the LORD. But he that sinneth against me wrongeth his own soul: all they that hate me love death.”

Proverbs 9:1 says, “Wisdom hath builded her house, she hath hewn out her seven pillars.”  I have the following written in the margin of my Bible for the seven pillars: 1) Fear God; 2) Keep His commandments; 3) Depart from evil; 4) Diligently seek wisdom; 5) Receive instruction; 6) Be rebuked; 7) Keep our heart.  I believe this is very good advise to follow and will be pleasing to our Lord.

I looked up the meaning of “abomination” and “pride” as well in the Webster’s 1828 dictionary: Abomination is a strong word.  It means “extreme hatred; detestation”.  Pride does not have a very pretty description either. It  means “inordinate self-esteem, an unreasonable conceit of one’s own superiority in talents, accomplishments, etc”.   I found that these words are mentioned a lot in Proverbs, and it seems to me these are things to be very watchful for and avoid in my life, asking God’s help to weed out.

Well that’s it for this week.  I am looking forward to reading the other reviews, as well as the next weeks reading.

Until next time – keep praising our Lord for He alone is worthy!

Responses

  1. Thank you for taking the time to do a review Barb! Busy busy!
    You make me want to go and write the seven pillars down in the margin of my Bible, and also find a Webster’s 1828 somewhere for my very own. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

