Posted by: happytoknowhim | September 30, 2008

Proverbs Week 3 and 4

I know that Iam very late with my review:(  My only excuse is that the time just gets away from me.

I must say that I have truly enjoyed reading and studying through this book.  I also know that there is so much more to learn and try to understand in this book.

My study was about the bad character trait of being controlling in my actions and words.  I am so amazed at how many times in the Book of Proverbs the “tongue, lips and mouth” are mentioned.  I went through to find out how many times each was used either in a positive way or negative way.  Here is what I came up with:

The tongue – 7 times in a positive way; 11 times in a negative way

The lips – 19 times in a positive way; 19 times in a negative way

The mouth – 24 times in a positive way; 26 times in a negative way

It looks like the negative times is used more than the positive. it has made me think about the times I have been guilty of using my tongue, lips, and mouth in a negative way when I have tried to be in contol of situations.  I am asking the Lord to “Set a watch, O LORD, before my mouth; keep the door of  my lips.” Psalm 141:3. 

A few other verses that were encouraging and helpful to me were the following:

Proverbs 17:22 “A merry heart doeth good like a medicine: but a broken spirit drieth the bones.”   It has been said that it takes more energy to frown than to smile.  A frown does nothing to edify anyone but a smile can brighten  a day for those who are having a difficult day. I’d rather be an encourager than a discourager.

Proverbs 18:19 “A brother offended is harder to be won than a strong city: and their contentions are like the bars of a castle.”  This verse has always been a concern to me as I witness to those who need the Lord.  I pray to the Lord that only His Words would come out of my mouth, that they would  look past my faults and see only Jesus.   I would not want to cause the person to not want to know my Jesus because of the way I winessed to that person. My Mom used to tell me that there is a right and wrong way, a kind and harsh way to show the truth  to a person.  She gave me very wise advise and I am thankful for this advise many times. I want to share the truth of Christ isn a kind and caring way.

Proverbs 23:7 “For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he: Eat and drink, saith he to thee; but his heart is not with thee”.  Another Scripture for me to think upon.  Philippians 4:8 comes to my mind, “What are the things  that I think as I go through my day.  Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these
things.” 
  If I meditated on this verse, my thought life would improve.

Proverbs 24:16,“For a just man falleth seven times, and riseth up again: but the wicked shall fall into mischief.”  This verse always encourages me to get back up and try again when I have failed in an area of my walk with God. To keep on going in the strength and power of my Lord. Never Give Up!!!

Proverbs 25:11“A word fitly spoken is like apples of gold in pictures of silver.”   When I read this verse I am reminded that so many issues could be resolved and even avoided if I would just put this verse into practice.

These are just a very few verses that spoke to me as I read through and meditated this past month.  I am looking forward to reading the last two weeks reviews, I did not want to read them before I finished my review. 

I am finding many things already as I read Ecclesiastes this week. 

Until next time, and hopefully sooner than this reviewwas posted, “Keep your eye upon the sky, Jesus is coming soon”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

