Posted by: happytoknowhim | October 9, 2008

Ecclesiastes 1 – 12

Where to begin with this book of the Bible.

One of the things that I got from this book is that anything done without God is nothing but vanity (empty) Chapter 1:14 “I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit.”  It doesn’t matter how much wealth, knowledge or wisdom I acquire, the most imprtant thing I  can have is to know the Lord and have a personal relationship with Him.

Solomon with all his wisdom realized that everything he had done was nothing but emptiness.  This reminds me that all I do in this world is going to mean nothing at the end of the day, only what I have done for Christ will count in the light of eternity.

Chapter 5:2 warns me to be careful with the words I speak, “Be not rash with thy mouth, and let not thine heart be hasty to utter any thing before God: for God is in heaven, and thou upon earth: therefore let thy words be few.”  Matthew 13:36, 37 says, “But I say unto you, That every idle word that men shall speak, they shall give account thereof in the day of judgment. For by thy words thou shalt be justified, and by thy
words thou shalt be condemned.”
  When I read these verses, it scares me; so many times I speak before I think – not a good plan.

Chapter 12: 13,14 sums up the whole duty of man “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man. For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil.” (emphasis mine).  I don’t know what more to add as the whole book shows me that all of my labours are in vain without the Lord.  He is in control and if I will heed His Word that will be my most important accomplishment in my life.

I praise God that He is so longsuffering with me as I travel this journey of life

This is all I have to share on this book, I found it a little difficult to do a review.  One thing that should encourage me from reading this past two weeks is to take heed to God’s Word and obey it.  I thank God for His love and faithfulness, without Him I am nothing.

I am looking forward to what I can glean from the rest of the reviews.

Until next time remember – God is good – all the time.

 

.

Responses

  1. Hi Barb. We ended our reviews almost the same. 🙂 Great minds think alike…. whoops, there goes that vanity again! 🙂
    Great review, glad to see your name there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

