Posted by: happytoknowhim | October 17, 2008

Matthew 1-4 Review

As I started reading these chapters this week all I could think of was what a Heavenly Father I have to serve and obey. 

In the genealogy of Christ God used  harlots, Gentiles, adulterers and a maiden that was willing to obey.  God uses who He chooses to accomplish His purpose.  Sometimes I wonder how God could use me to do anything for Him – a sinner saved by grace.  i realize that what God wants from me is a submissive, teachable, obedient life and allow Him to do what He will in my life, not to question Him.  I wish I could say that I do these things.

While I was reading in chapter 3, I thought about how John the Baptist must have looked to the people who saw him, I think he must have really stood out in a crowd.  He was probably mocked for his appearance.  god used John the Baptist to tell of the coming of the Lamb of God – my Saviour.  God wants me to be different from this world as well.  I must say it is not easy to stand out in the crowd, but when I think of what Jesus did for me, I am ashamed of the prideful person that I am, that I am concerned how others see me instead of how I can please my Lord.  John was not afraid to speak to the leaders either.  Chapter 3:7,8 says, “But when he saw many of the Pharisees and Sadducees come to his baptism, he said unto them, O generation of vipers, who hath warned you to flee from the wrath to come? Bring forth therefore fruits meet for repentance:”  I need to have more of John’s character in my life and be willing to tell those I come in contact of the Christ who paid it all for each of our sin.

As I read chapter 4 how Jesus was tempted with the same things I am 1) the lust  of theflesh – daily food – v.4,  2) the pride of life – temptation – v.5, 3) the lust of the eyes – material things – v.8,9.  Satan tempted Jesus with the things of this world but He never yielded to any of it, which tells me with Jesus, it is possible for me to overcome temption as well. Philippians 4:13says, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”    I John 2:16 says, “For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh, and the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life, is not of the Father, but is of the world.”  In eternity none of these things will be of any value to me. 

Chapter 4 showed me the importance of obeying right away.  When Jesus called Peter and Andrew the Bible says in verse19,20, “And he saith unto them, Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men.  And they straightway left their nets, and followed him.” Also James and John in V21,22, ” And going on from thence, he saw other two brethren, James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, in a ship with Zebedee their father, mending their nets; and he called them.And they immediately left the ship and their father, and followed him.”

Well that is  it for this time I hope this will encourage you as it did me.  Jesus is a wonderful Saviour and worthy of all the  praise I can give Him.  He is worthy.

Until next time keep-looking to Jesus:)

Responses

  1. Great review, Barb! I almost went the 1 John 2:16 route, too, but the more I wrote the less sense I made so I just deleted it and started over! I’m glad you made sense of it. 🙂

    See you tomorrow at the Harvest fellowship! 🙂

  2. love it! I especially love what you said about John the Baptist and how he stood out and that we should too. So easy to say, so hard to do. Good food for though1 🙂

  3. Obedience, no matter what the cost or what unknowns are waiting around the bend, is a hard thinig for me.
    Thanks for the review! Always an encouragement. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

