Posted by: happytoknowhim | November 21, 2008

Matthhew 19 – 24

I just have a few thoughts that caught my attention as I was reading and thinking through Matthew 19 -24.

In Matthew 19 the Pharisees try to trip Jesus up by asking Himabout divorce, among many other things. It was not so they could find the truth but to see if He would contradict God’s Word.  Jesus takes them back to the beginning where He shows them God’s purpose for marriage Genesis 2:24 says,”Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh” and  Matthew 19:5 say, “And said, For this cause shall a man leave father and mother, and shall cleave to his wife: and they twain shall be one flesh?”   The Pharisees knew the law but they did not want to obey it.  I am reminded here of myself and think of how many times I have disobeyed and done my own thing, not because I didn’t know what was right to do but because of this sinful flesh that does not want to do right.  I have a forgiving merciful Lord that I am so thankful for.  Great is the Lord and greatly to be praised.  He is so patient and long suffering to me. Sometimes it is hard to comprehend the hardness of my own heart,  Jeremiah 17:9 “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?”,
in obeying the things of a holy righteous God who only wants the very best for me.  I know that one day when I stand before Him I am going to say, “I Wish I had Given Him More” as the Hymn says.

Chapter 21 makes me think of how quickly we change and follow the crowd.  In verse 8 & 9 the crowd is excited about Jesus, “And a very great multitude spread their garments in the way; others cut down branches from the trees, and strawed them in the way. And the multitudes that went before, and that followed, cried, saying, Hosanna to the Son of David: Blessed is he that cometh in the name of the Lord; Hosanna in the highest.”  Then all too soon this same crowd is saying,  “Cruify Him Crucify Him”.  I would like to say I would never change like that, but I have no idea what I would have done if I had been there with that crowd.  To stand alone in a crowd like this would be by the grace and mercy of God.

Chapter 23 has many things that I need to pay attention to.  Jesus gives many woes (strong warning) in this chapter.  He is talking to scribes, Pharisees, and hypocrites here.  I think there is much for me to take heed to as well – like making sure that I am clean on the inside and not only the outside.  That I have a true tesimony of faith and love for my Lord to those that I meet on a daily basis.  I don’t want to be known as a hyprocrite – saying one thing with my mouth and another with my life.

Chapter 24 Jesus warns of being deceived by false teachers.  This statement encourages me to read and study my Bible so that I will not be deceived.  If I know God’s Word and check out what I am hearing and being taught with God’s Word,  I should be able to discern those things that are taught whether they be of God or not. 

When we get to verse 7 & 8 I am encouraged that the time has come that the Lord will rapture me from this world (of course if He hasn’t already called me home) and I will not have this flesh to be constantly battling.  I do not believe that as a believer that I will be here either way to go through the tribulation.  My reason for believing this is for another post.

That is all I have to share on what I have read this last week.

Until next time – keep reading and studying His Word

Leave a Reply

Categories

